Further information

Back to search results link
Australian Postgraduate Awards (APA) [F51204]

The University of Western Australia has a range of postgraduate research scholarships available for local (domestic) and international students, including Australian Postgraduate Awards (APA).

These awards are tenable at The University of Western Australia for up to two years for Masters by research candidates and three years for Doctoral candidates. PhD scholarships may be extended to a maximum of three and a half years.

Successful APA applicants may also be offered a UWA Safety-Net Top-Up Scholarship valued at $2,712 p.a. in 2016. The combined value of these scholarships for 2016 is $29,000. The APA stipend will be adjusted annually in line with the Commonwealth Department of Education indexation. The value of the UWA Safety-Net Top-Up Scholarship is at the discretion of the UWA Scholarships Committee and will also be adjusted each year, reducing as the APA increases.

The Safety-Net Top-Up program will be discontinued when the value of the APA reaches or exceeds $29,000 per annum.

Please refer to the Australian Government Website APA for Frequently Asked Questions about the Australian Postgraduate Awards -

Payment type
Fortnightly Stipend
Value unit
Per annum
Basis of award
Academic Achievement

Please see conditions

Australian Citizen, Australian Permanent Resident, New Zealand Citizen
Study area
Commencement date
Applications open
Applications close
Tenable At
University of Western Australia
Currently available
Application status